Seven water ski athletes win respective individual titles

POLK CITY, Fla., May 17, 2015 – The National Collegiate Water Ski Association’s Midwest Region won the coveted team title at the 21st Collegiate All-Stars Water Ski Championships, May 16-17, at PITS Ski Lake in Decatur, Ill. The two-day event included the top-10 men and top-10 women from each of the National Collegiate Water Ski Association’s four regions vying for the coveted regional team title and individual titles in slalom, tricks, jumping and overall.

The Midwest Region tallied 10,360 points in winning the team title. The Western Region finished runner-up with 5,900 points, followed by the Eastern Region (2,945 points) and the South Central Region (165 points).

Individual event winners were: Ohio State’s Kevin Dammeyer (Saint Marys, Ohio), men’s slalom (5 buoys at 32 feet off); Arizona State’s Steven Brooks (Canyon Lake, Calif.), men’s tricks (3,510 points); Indiana’s Briant Detty (Danville, Ind.), men’s jumping (143 feet) and overall (750 points); Purdue’s Megan Lambert (Brownsburg, Ind.) and Chico State’s Samantha Miller (Rio Linda, Calif.), women’s slalom (tie – 3 buoys at 28 feet off); Ohio State’s Kristen Dammeyer (Saint Marys, Ohio), women’s tricks (1,550 points); and Ohio State’s Riley Daulton (Dublin, Ohio), women’s jumping (105 feet) and overall (655 points).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *